We are pleased to announce you the refreshed MyClip. We fixed few bugs, concerning Windows 8 and refreshed the UI. Hope you like it, please comment :)
Sylvia
1/28/2015 02:39:14 pm

Hi, I wanted to let you know that I've installed your software in my Windows 8.1 x64 SP3 and I got the following error:

"MyClip,exe System Error"

"The Program can't start because mfc100u.dll is missing from your computer. Try re-installing the program to fix this problem."

I search the web for possible solutions and I found out I needed "Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable Package" however, I didn't know which one. Since I have a 64bit machine, I thought that would do it, but it didn't. I needed the 32bit version, which did solve the issue. I do a lot research and copying and pasting is a big part of what I do. I was very excited to to try MyClip, but the frustration drained me too much. Maybe tomorrow.

I and many I am sure, thank you so much for giving the world this little tool. However, when you do choose to "truly give" give why not give all the way and in full excellence? Your inventions are a representation of who you are, or who who you are on your way to becoming! I am sure the fact that I spent an hour stressing over this issue may not be a big deal to someone as technically inclined as you, but for a lot of folks this can be a very difficult task. Your website and download page should tell people the requirements for installing MyClip, and/or your installation package should include the mentioned distributed, or telling us to get it.

The difference between "average" people (or, programmers, software, relationships, careers, efforts, etc.), are all the these little things. This little things is what what differentiates average from the top 20%, don't you think? I am sure if you knew Windows 8.1 users with a machine like mine would have this issue you would have done something about it. But you didn't, because of X, but it can be perceived as you not caring enough about your users to even warn them. This takes away from your wonderful gift you gave the world. You shouldn't publish this comment, but know your software is not just packaged logic with a niche purpose, it is a tool that affects the quality of moments of your fellow kind. Please know I come from a place of love and authenticity. For someone like me there was probably a lot more that didn't reach out.

Lastly, if I had your talent for creating wonderful little tools like you do and decided to give it out to the world, I would make sure people felt absolutely in love with it! For that, just packaging a software is not enough, there needs to be real soul behind it. I hope you repackage MyClip knowing that creating a software product is only 20% of the software project. By using the same level of intelligence to also do the human, marketing, and community aspects for your tool, I have no doubt your tool can truly be the great gift you wanted the world to have to begin with. Or not. If you did not care enough about the world enough to give them an excellent tool as a reflection of your excellent self and choices, than people it is time to accept that figuring out "why" instead of how you make software is what you are missing to be a great programmer--just like any other area of your life. By telling you these things, I am also talking to myself.

Best wishes, and I will keep my eye out for what you decide to do next,

Sylvia

P.S. Go and check out phraseexpress.com, may be it can inspire you in some way. The UI alone is worth a lot. ;)

Reply



Leave a Reply.